Auditions

Welcome, we’re delighted that you’re interested in the Bower School of Music at Florida Gulf Coast University! We encourage you to visit our website, www.fgcu.edu/music to learn more about our music faculty, degree programs, and auditions.

The music program at Florida Gulf Coast University is a Limited Access Program. All applicants must complete the FGCU application as well as the Bower School of Music supplemental application via Acceptd and schedule an audition. 

 

Apply Now

Audition dates for admission:

We're accepting applications from students that have already been admitted to FGCU for Fall 2022.   

We will host an audition at a date TBD prior to classes beginning on August 19, 2022. 

All voice and piano applicants must submit prescreen videos before August 1, 2022.

Prescreening requirements are the same as audition requirements.
Please REVIEW - Audition Repertoire Requirement

 

Please be aware that a successful audition does not guarantee admittance to Florida Gulf Coast University. Likewise, admittance to Florida Gulf Coast University does not guarantee admittance to the Bower School of Music.

 

The audition process consists of a vocal, instrumental or piano performance, sight reading on your instrument or voice, taking the Music Theory Diagnostic Exam or Transfer Music Theory Placement Exam, and taking the Class Piano Placement Exam if you listed four or more years of piano lessons or you’re a transfer student that has taken Class Piano on the college level. 

For additional questions regarding your major, please contact:

Dr. Michael Baron, Head of Keyboard Studies at mbaron@fgcu.edu 

Dr. Jeanie Darnell, Head of Vocal Studies at jdarnell@fgcu.edu

Dr. Thomas Cimarusti, BA Music Coordinator at tcimarusti@fgcu.edu

Dr. Patricia Gingras, Music Education Coordinator at pgingras@fgcu.edu

Dr. Kimberly Sena Moore, Music Therapy Coordinator at ksenamoore@fgcu.edu

Dr. Kyle Szabo, Head of String Studies at kszabo@fgcu.edu

Dr. Timothy Yontz, Head of Instrumental Studies at tyontz@fgcu.edu

 

Questions? Contact Pam Harkins, Music Program Coordinator at (239) 590-7851 or pharkins@fgcu.edu.
For technical questions, please check out our Help Desk.